A God of Much Grace

Standard

I was raised in church and accepted Jesus Christ as my personal Savior at the age of 7, but at age 19  I turned my back on God.  I thought I could take care of everything on my own.  I had just married my highschool sweetheart, Jarrod,  and life could not be any better. 

We slowly stopped going to church, missing a service here and there. Eventually we were out of church all together.  Our excuse, “It is a 60 min round trip… We are looking for a church closer to home…”.  When mom would call and check on us I would lie and tell her we were visiting other churches. 

If missing church was not bad enough, we then started living above our means.  We bought the nice electronics, the nice cars, all the latest toys and gadgets; knowing that we could not afford any of it.  We continued spending  money that we did not have and had all these “things” that we did not need.  The bills continued to pile up and we were sinking fast.  However, at the time we did not see this.  We just pretended everything was okay.  We made new friends and partied hard every weekend; drinking, and living a sinful lifestyle. 

With the combination of being out of church, having no money and lots of debt, and living a sinful lifestyle our marriage begin to fall apart.  I threatened to leave Jarrod numerous times.  Jarrod and I were constantly arguing and angry with each other. The love and respect that we desired was nowhere to be found.  Our lives were in shambles and things kept getting worse. 

One late Saturday night in September, 2009 Jarrod informed me that we were going to church the next day.  So the next day, we got up, put on our “Sunday Best”,  and drove to a small church about 5 miles from our home in Troy, NC.  That Sunday I realized how far I had drifted away from God.  He broke my heart, showed me that what I was doing was wrong, and that I needed to repent and turn back to Him. 

With the love and help of our forgiving Lord and Savior, family, and church friends we turned our lives around and began serving our Mighty God.  We became involved in church activities and we never missed a service.  A year later Jarrod surrendered to the ministry.  We left our family, friends, and everything we knew to following the Lord’s calling.  We are now serving at Global Vision Bible Church in Mount Juliet, TN and I thank God daily for his mercy and grace.

I am so thankful that we serve a God that never leaves us even when we turn our back on Him.  We serve a forgiving God that is there with open arms ready to pick us up and brush us off when we mess up. 

It is not to late to turn your life around and start over.  If God can forgive and  use a sinner like me, who almost completely ruined her testimony, He can use you too.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

